Tuesday, August 10, 2021

What are the Ten Niyamas (Observances) of Hinduism?


The Ten Niyamas (Observances) of Hinduism

Hri (remorse) - feeling shame and performing penance for misdeeds.

Santosha (contentment) - living a life that strives for joy, serenity, and peace of mind.

Dana (giving) - giving generously to others without expecting anything in return.

Astikya (faith) - maintaining a firm belief in God, the gods and goddesses, the spiritual teacher (guru), and living a life that follows the path to enlightenment. 

Ishvarapujana (worship) - practicing daily puja (prayer) and meditation.

Siddhanta Shravana (scriptures) - studying the holy books and the teachings of wise teachers and  holy men.

Mati (cognition) - under the guidance of a guru, gaining spiritual growth and wisdom.

Vrata (sacred vows) - live a life according to all religious vows, rules, and observances.

Japa (recitation) - chant holy mantras daily.

Tapas (austerity) - living a life without attachment to material things or the ego.

Hinduism strives to achieve a balance between avoiding unethical behavior and living a virtuous, spiritual life.  The goal is to live in the world without being touched (or tainted) by the world. This takes a lifetime of practice, discipline, devotion, and commitment.

Dawn Pisturino
August 9, 2021
Copyright 2021 Dawn Pisturino. All Rights Reserved.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your comments and suggestions!